I bet you didn’t know this “entrancing” fact about chickens…

I have a bachelors of science in Animal and Poultry Science from Virginia Tech. For some reason, people usually lock into the “poultry” portion of this title and start asking me loads of chicken questions. Truth is, my focus was livestock animals (sheep, swine, and beef cattle). I didn’t take the poultry focus curriculum, but we did have some overview.

Honestly, poultry kind of freaks me out, with their jerky movements and reptilian feet and internal testicles (more on that another day…)

But this post isn’t about my squirmy feelings towards chickens. It’s about how I got a bachelors of science in one of the toughest majors all the while being tested on seemingly unconventional skills such as flipping sheep and hypnotizing chickens.

Yep, one of the coolest things about chickens, in my opinion, is the fact that you can hypnotize them. Most people don’t believe me when I say this, or tell me that VT must have had “special chickens”, but after a brief youtube search, it seems apparent that this is a relatively wide-known fact for such a well-kept secret.  And you can hypnotize a chicken in less than 10 seconds. And, for fear of alarming my vegan buddies, I should point out that this does not harm the animal and lasts at most 30 minutes, and usually closer to 30 seconds. AND you could do it. Yep, you, who doesn’t know the first thing about how to handle a chicken. I did it on my very first in-person encounter with poultry.

So, without further ado, I will give you a video that will do far more justice than any description I could offer. You can clearly see that the child is being gentle with the bird, and that the chicken walks away easily when all is said and done. AND HOW FREAKING COOL IS THIS?!

For those interested, VT taught me using method 2. Although a chicken with his legs straight up in the air is pretty classy 🙂

As far as I know, this works on all chickens, although some are more sensitive to your movement and therefore “snap out of it” more easily than others (who require loud clapping or gentle poking). I do not know if it works on turkeys (anyone??)

You’re welcome for educating you on the endlessly cool things about livestock, even though you didn’t think smelly animals could be interesting. Yep, I’m talking to my brother on this one.

********************************

Monday 101 Day is a new theme I am launching in efforts of 1. educating the average reader about interesting tidbits in the various facets of the Agriculture world as I learn them. 2- improving my abilities to speak volumes with few words (I was not blessed with brevity). If you are an average, removed-from-ag reader who would like to learn something, or if you are a farmer/rancher who thinks something should be shared, please leave me a comment! I’m always looking for cool ideas :)

Happy Monday!! Hope everyone has a great week

About Farm the Start

I grew up in cities from North Carolina all the way to Asia, but never really interacted with farm animals or farmers until I began college at Virginia Tech as an Animal & Poultry Sciences Major. I thought I would become a vet for puppies and kitties. Little did I know what I would learn and the love I'd find for the lifestyle, practices, people and animals involved in food production.

Posted on March 19, 2012, in Monday 101day, Poultry/Chicken and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

What do you think?

